About Us

The United States Rugby Foundation has reorganized as a Delaware not-for-profit corporation. Donations and contributions made to the Foundation by individuals or organizations are exempt from U.S. Federal and State Tax in accordance with the Foundation’s status as a 501(c)3 organization. Please note our new EIN is 81-5187776. Foundation assets earmarked for giving are dispersed in the form of grants to individuals and organizations that have demonstrable needs or requests that meet the guidelines established by the USRF.

Contact Us

Deadline for Nominations is February 16, 2018

San Diego, CA (December 19, 2017) – The United States Rugby Foundation is accepting nominations for  the U.S. Rugby Hall of Fame Class of 2018. The nomination criteria are set forth below. Nominations for the Class of 2018 must be received by February 16, 2018.

United States Rugby Foundation
     U.S. Rugby Hall of Fame
  2018 Class – Call for Nominations

The U.S. Rugby Hall of Fame was founded in 2011 by the United States Rugby Foundation. To date, 53 individuals and three teams have been enshrined, including the Class of 2017: the1991 U.S. Women’s Rugby World Cup teamSteve FinkelDave HodgesDr, Lyle Micheli,Tim O’BrienCandi OrsiniJim RussellEd Schram SrTommy Smith and Jay Waldron.

The Class of 2018 will be honored at the U.S. Rugby Hall of Fame Induction Dinner which will be held this Summer or Fall in conjunction with a high level rugby event. An announcement of this celebration will be made in the Spring of 2018.

The following criteria must be met for induction into the U.S. Rugby Hall of Fame:

1. Distinguished participation in or contribution to interscholastic, intercollegiate, amateur or professional rugby by a player, coach, referee, promoter, doctor, physio, sports media personality or journalist.

2. While each nominee’s rugby achievements are the most important consideration, their conduct and record during and after the conclusion of their athletic endeavors will also be weighed.

3. Teams and groups are also eligible for nomination and will be considered based on the degree of difficulty of their achievement, the uniqueness of their achievement and whether or not their achievement is replicable by another.

Anyone may nominate a candidate for induction into the U.S. Rugby Hall of Fame. Please submit a 2018 U.S. Rugby Hall of Fame nomination form. In the area on the nomination form for playing career accolades/awards, please include individual records, captaincies, MVP Awards, # Caps, etc. Also include team championship titles.

To be nominated, a candidate must be retired from participating in the game at the highest level they have achieved (e.g. International level) for three years before being considered.

Nominations should state clearly what the nominee has achieved both on and off the field and the compelling reasons why the nominee should be elected for the U.S. Rugby Hall of Fame.

The United States Rugby Foundation Trustees will review the nominations and elect the new members of the Class of 2018 for the U.S. Rugby Hall of Fame. There is no limit on the number of inductees but the Foundation’s target is to enshrine four to six new members each year.

Visit the U.S. Rugby Hall of Fame at www.usrugbyhalloffame.org.

For more information about the United States Rugby Foundation and the U.S. Rugby Hall of Fame, visit our website at www.usrugbyfoundation.org or contact Executive Director Brian Vizard at 619-233-0765 or at bvizard@usrugbyfoundation.com.

# # # 

© 2022, U.S. Rugby Foundation. All rights reserved
Stay Connected