About Us

The United States Rugby Foundation has reorganized as a Delaware not-for-profit corporation. Donations and contributions made to the Foundation by individuals or organizations are exempt from U.S. Federal and State Tax in accordance with the Foundation’s status as a 501(c)3 organization. Please note our new EIN is 81-5187776. Foundation assets earmarked for giving are dispersed in the form of grants to individuals and organizations that have demonstrable needs or requests that meet the guidelines established by the USRF.

Contact Us

San Diego, CA (March 3, 2013) – The United States Rugby Foundation Board of Trustees and Directors is proud to announce its 2013 inductees to the U.S. Rugby Hall of Fame (www.usrugbyhalloffame.org). Following the polling of Foundation Directors and voted on by the Trustees, the following will be inducted into the U.S. Rugby Hall of Fame at the USRF Hall of Fame Induction Dinner at the Inn at the Ballpark in Houston, Texas on Saturday, June 8, 2013 prior to the U.S. Eagles match against Ireland.

The Class of 2013 is:

·Colby “Babe” Slater, member of the 1920 US Olympic Gold Medal winning rugby team and captain of the 1924 US Men’s Gold Medal winning rugby team.

·Harry Langenberg, Co-Founder of the Missouri Rugby Football Union in 1933 and was Secretary of the MRFU from 1933-1983; Co-Founder of the St. Louis Ramblers Rugby Club.

·Ed Lee, Founding member of the United States of America Rugby Football Union; past president of the Eastern Rugby Union.

·Rob Bordley, the first man to captain the United States Eagles. He did so against Australia on January 31, 1976. He also captained the Eagles in their second test ever, against France in Chicago on June 12, 1976.

·R.W. “Dick” Smith, Founding member of the United States of America Rugby Football Union; past president of the Midwest and Pacific Northwest Rugby Unions; past president of the Chicago Lions RFC and Old Puget Sound Beach.

·Craig Sweeney, a U.S. National Team second row player and captain of the Eagles against Canada on May 21, 1977 and against England XV at Twickenham on October 15, 1977.

·Vic Hilarov, Founding member of the United States of America Rugby Football Union and the Union’s first ever president; past president of the Midwest Rugby Union.

·Ed Hagerty and Jon Prusmack, pioneers of U.S. rugby media. They are the founders of Rugby Magazine.

·Ray Cornbill, coached the United States National Team from 1976-1983.

·Ian Nixon, the first U.S. international referee and a past president of the United States of America Rugby Football Union.

·Kevin Higgins (pictured above), an Eagle 15s and 7s player and the first American player invited to play for the Barbarians. Kevin also captained the Eagles on three occasions.

The Class of 2013 joins the following who have already been inducted into the U.S. Rugby Hall of Fame: first U.S. National Team Coach Dennis Storer; former St. Mary’s College Coach Pat Vincent; former University of California Coach Miles “Doc” Hudson; former United States of America Rugby Football Union and Midwest Rugby Union official Keith Seaber; and the 1920 and 1924 Gold Medal Winning Olympic Teams.

Nominations are solicited by the Hall of Fame/USRF Board and reviewed by a committee of the Board. Requirements for nominations for future inductees will be announced on the USRF website (www.usrugbyfoundation.org) effective June 1, 2013.

The U.S. Rugby Hall of Fame and its Foundation is a 501 c 3 non-profit organization dedicated to preserving the history of U.S. Rugby; supporting the development of the game by funding programs for youth, high school and collegiate rugby; and individual player development programs.

© 2022, U.S. Rugby Foundation. All rights reserved
Stay Connected