About Us

The United States Rugby Foundation has reorganized as a Delaware not-for-profit corporation. Donations and contributions made to the Foundation by individuals or organizations are exempt from U.S. Federal and State Tax in accordance with the Foundation’s status as a 501(c)3 organization. Please note our new EIN is 81-5187776. Foundation assets earmarked for giving are dispersed in the form of grants to individuals and organizations that have demonstrable needs or requests that meet the guidelines established by the USRF.

Contact Us

San Diego, CA (June 13, 2013) – Twelve rugby pioneers were inducted into the U.S. Rugby Hall of Fame on Saturday, June 8, 2013 at the U.S. Rugby Hall of Fame Induction Dinner at the Inn at the Ballpark in Houston, TX. A grand time was had by all at the sold out event as 120 rugby enthusiasts came out to pay tribute to some of those who led the way.

The crowd gathered to honor four who made their biggest mark on the rugby field: Colby E. “Babe” Slater, Craig Sweeney, Rob Bordley and Kevin Higgins; one former coach, Ray Cornbill; one former referee, Ian Nixon; two rugby media pioneers, Jon Prusmack and Ed Hagerty; and four men who played the game but are best known for their work in the boardroom: Ed Lee, Harry Langenberg, Vic Hilarov and Dick Smith.

The evening started off with a cocktail reception as the guests were able to mingle with old and new friends. The reception and dinner had no shortage of past United States National Team players or coaches. Former Eagles Bill Fraumann, Brad Andrews, Dan Lyle, Bob Causey, Rob Bordley, Tony Ridnell, Dan Wack, Robbie Flynn, Grant Wells, Ray Green, Ed Burlingham, Jeff Hollings, Mike Purcell, Steve Finkel, Jake Burkhardt, Fred Paoli, John Jelaco and Brian Vizard were there to pay their respects and join in the fun.

Past Eagles coaches Ron Mayes and George Betzler were there to congratulate fellow coach Cornbill.

During dinner, the guests were treated to a slideshow of the 12 inductees. As the dinner portion of the evening was concluding, USRF Executive Director Brian Vizard spoke of the importance of the occasion, thanked those for coming out in support of the USRF and the U.S. Rugby Hall of Fame, and congratulated those on their inductions.

One at a time, the 12 inductees were introduced by USRF board members and the inductees or those accepting their awards, talked about the role rugby played in their lives. 

It truly was a night to remember…as will next year’s U.S. Rugby Hall of Fame Induction Dinner.

A slideshow from the 2013 U.S. Rugby Hall of Fame Reception and Dinner will be sent out next week.

Visit the U.S. Rugby Hall of Fame at www.usrugbyhalloffame.org

For more information about the United States Rugby Foundation, visit our website at www.usrugbyfoundation.org or contact Executive Director Brian Vizard at bvizard@usrugbyfoundation.com or at 619-233-0765.

© 2022, U.S. Rugby Foundation. All rights reserved
Stay Connected